This page provides details of some of the local support services on offer in Aberdeenshire. If you cannot find the support service you require please visit Grampian Care Data http://www.grampiancaredata.gov.uk/

Older People

Transport

Transport to Healthcare Information Centre (THiNC) provides practical advice for people who have difficulty getting to and from hospital appointments in Grampian. For advice on transport options dial 01224 665568 (9-4 Mon-Fri) or email travel@thinc-hub.org or visit: http://thinc-hub.org/

Dial A Bus – Demand responsive door-to-door transport service in Aberdeenshire. All vehicles are wheelchair accessible, to book dial 01224 6645599 (9.30-4.30 Mon-Fri) or visit: https://www.aberdeenshire.gov.uk/roads-and-travel/public-transport/a2b-dial-a-bus/a2b-dial-a-bus/

Getabout is a joint initiative across Aberdeen City and Shire to help people consider their sustainable transport options, including electric vehicles, car-sharing, walking and cycling routes and public transport http://www.get-about.com/

Health and Wellbeing

Mental Health Aberdeen – The Arches www.mha.uk.net

Scottish Fire and Rescue Service Home Fire Safety Visits – http://www.firescotland.gov.uk/your-safety/for-householders/home-fire-safety-visit.aspx

RNIB http://www.rnib.org.uk/about-rnib/contact-us

UPDATE Disability Information Scotland http://www.update.org.uk/rec-detail.php?rec=5536

Grampian Opportunities – http://www.grampianopportunities.org.uk/

Narcotics Anonymous – http://ukna.org/na-meeting/aberdeen-31

Action on Depression – www.actionondepression.org

Aberdeenshire Alcohol and Drugs Partnership – Advice and Support – http://aberdeenshireadp.org.uk/

Scottish Families Affected by Drugs www.sfad.org.uk

Drugs Action www.drugsaction.co.uk

Aberdeenshire Dementia www.dementia-aberdeenshire.org

Grampian 50+ Network’s Quarterly Newsletter www.grampian50plusnetwork.com

Community Food Initiatives North East (CFINE) www.cfine.org

Volunteering

Aberdeenshire Voluntary Action www.avashire.org.uk

Money/Welfare Reform & Advice Services

Food Banks – www.aberdeenshirenorth.foodbank.org.uk or www.aberdeenshiresouth.foodbank.org.uk

Citizens Advice Scotland www.cas.org.uk

Gordon Rural Action www.gordonruralaction.org.uk

Shelter Scotland www.scotland.shelter.org.uk

NESCU (North East Scotland Credit Union) www.nescu.co.uk

Welfare Reform and Benefits Advice https://www.aberdeenshire.gov.uk/benefits-and-grants/welfare-reform/

Work, skills and learning needs

Work, Skills and Learning Needs www.myworldofwork.co.uk

Making Skills Work For Employers www.ourskillsforce.co.uk

The Environment & Energy

SCARF (Energy Efficiency Advice) www.scarf.org.uk

Oil Clubs www.oil-club.co.uk

Aberdeenshire Environmental Forum www.green-butterfly.org.uk

SEPA Floodline www.flood.sepa.org.uk

Young People

Aberdeenshire Youth Opportunities Database (YODA) www.aberdeenshire.youthinfo.info or https://www.facebook.com/OpportunitiesAberdeenshire

Get the Lowdown – Young Scot www.young.scot

Aberdeenshire Youth Council www.aberdeenshireyouthcouncil.co.uk

Aberdeenshire Youth Parliament https://www.aberdeenshire.gov.uk/schools/cld/scottish-youth-parliament/

Tools & Equipment

tt-exchange Network – Provides eligible UK charities with access to major technology companies’ software donation programmes (including Microsoft, Cisco, Symantec and Adobe) www.tt-exchange.org

Families and Children

Befriend a Child www.befriendachild.org.uk

Scottish Family Information www.scottishfamilies.gov.uk

The Spark – Relationship Counselling www.thespark.org.uk

Business and Economic Development

Business Gateway www.bgateway.com

Scottish Towns Partnership www.scotlandstowns.org

Planning Aid for Scotland www.pas.org.uk