Local Services and Support

Home/Resources and Useful Links/Local Services and Support
Local Services and Support 2017-04-05T06:46:07+00:00

This page provides details of some of the local support services on offer in Aberdeenshire. If you cannot find the support service you require please visit Grampian Care Data http://www.grampiancaredata.gov.uk/

Older People

Transport

Transport to Healthcare Information Centre (THiNC) provides practical advice for people who have difficulty getting to and from hospital appointments in Grampian. For advice on transport options dial 01467 536111 (9-4.30pm Mon-Fri) or email travel@thinc-hub.org or visit: http://thinc-hub.org/

Dial A Bus – Demand responsive door-to-door transport service in Aberdeenshire. All vehicles are wheelchair accessible, to book visit: https://www.aberdeenshire.gov.uk/roads-and-travel/public-transport/a2b-dial-a-bus/ or dial 01224 664588 (9.30-4.30 Mon-Fri) for advice.

Getabout is a joint initiative across Aberdeen City and Shire to help people consider their sustainable transport options, including electric vehicles, car-sharing, walking and cycling routes and public transport http://www.get-about.com/

Health and Wellbeing

Mental Health Aberdeen – The Arches www.mha.uk.net

Scottish Fire and Rescue Service Home Fire Safety Visits – http://www.firescotland.gov.uk/your-safety/for-householders/home-fire-safety-visit.aspx

RNIB http://www.rnib.org.uk/about-rnib/contact-us

Disability Information Scotland http://www.disabilityscot.org.uk/directory/

Grampian Opportunities – http://www.grampianopportunities.org.uk/

Narcotics Anonymous – http://ukna.org/meetings/search

Aberdeenshire Alcohol and Drugs Partnership – Advice and Support – http://aberdeenshireadp.org.uk/

Scottish Families Affected by Drugs www.sfad.org.uk

Drugs Action www.drugsaction.co.uk

Aberdeenshire Dementia www.dementia-aberdeenshire.org

Grampian 50+ Network’s Quarterly Newsletter www.grampian50plusnetwork.com

Community Food Initiatives North East (CFINE) www.cfine.org

Volunteering

Aberdeenshire Voluntary Action www.avashire.org.uk

Money/Welfare Reform & Advice Services

Food Banks – www.aberdeenshirenorth.foodbank.org.uk or www.aberdeenshiresouth.foodbank.org.uk

Citizens Advice Scotland www.cas.org.uk

Gordon Rural Action www.gordonruralaction.org.uk

Shelter Scotland http://scotland.shelter.org.uk

NESCU (North East Scotland Credit Union) www.nescu.co.uk

Welfare Reform and Benefits Advice https://www.aberdeenshire.gov.uk/benefits-and-grants/welfare-reform/

Work, skills and learning needs

Work, Skills and Learning Needs www.myworldofwork.co.uk

Making Skills Work For Employers www.ourskillsforce.co.uk

The Environment & Energy

SCARF (Energy Efficiency Advice) www.scarf.org.uk

Oil Clubs www.oil-club.co.uk

Aberdeenshire Environmental Forum https://www.facebook.com/aberdeenshireenvironmentalforum

SEPA Floodline http://www.sepa.org.uk/environment/water/flooding

Young People

Aberdeenshire Youth Opportunities Database (YODA) www.aberdeenshire.youthinfo.info

Get the Lowdown – Young Scot www.young.scot

Aberdeenshire Youth Council www.aberdeenshireyouthcouncil.org.uk

Aberdeenshire Youth Forums http://www.aberdeenshire.gov.uk/schools/cld/consulting-young-people/

Tools & Equipment

tt-exchange Network – Provides eligible UK charities with access to major technology companies’ software donation programmes (including Microsoft, Cisco, Symantec and Adobe) www.tt-exchange.org

Families and Children

Befriend a Child www.befriendachild.org.uk

Aberdeenshire Family Information Service https://www.aberdeenshire.gov.uk/social-care-and-health/children-and-families/family-information-service/

The Spark – Relationship Counselling www.thespark.org.uk

Business and Economic Development

Business Gateway www.bgateway.com

Scottish Towns Partnership www.scotlandstowns.org

Planning Aid for Scotland www.pas.org.uk